I'm hanging out at the hotel in Moscow. I wanted to go to the red square today, but I have to take a 2 pm bus to the venue so I can go get my weapons check and it take 40-50 minutes by metro to get there. SOOO, I'll have to see if I can go another time, which I hope I can!!! I also have to find SOMEONE with a screwdriver so I can fix my bodychords before/at the venue. The positive: I get to watch some awesome mens saber today while I'm at the venue fixing said body chords :)
I went to give the belarussians the shoes Sasha sent for them today while they got on the bus, and ended up running into them on the elevator! They seem nice but were kind of concentrating so I didn't have much of a conversation. I've been in a Russian Olympic TV coma since I've been here but have somehow managed to miss the opening ceremonies. I hope they were awesome!! Mostly I've been watching dubbed russian television and the repeating CNN feed. I know I'll need to get out sometime today so I don't go crazy inside, and maybe I'll take a walk around all the depressing soviet-era apartment buildings that surround this place and take some funky pics!
Now I am officially 11 hours off of California standard time ;) and I'm feeling more disconnected than usual. As for you guys, you will be more connected that usual! You can follow the tournament live here, if you click on 'ONLINE':
http://moscowsabre.ru/index_eng.shtml
Eileen
2 comments:
Thanks for the link! I may be able to see the finals soon.
Too bad you didn't get to go anywhere today. Have you had any meal with sour cream and parsley?
Mom
Yeah, I can relate to that disconnection comment...when I was in St. Petersburg and Moscow for the summer, I felt REALLY far from home. Of course, we also didn't have the internet, cell phones, etc. in 1974, so I had to write letters. I hope you got to see some of Moscow today (besides the local apartment blocks) -- it has some very beautiful, historic areas.
Post a Comment