Well, everything yesterday was a rough ride but I made it to my goal-- final four. I was angry I didn't beat Schneider but what can you do. I wasn't feeling perfect and I fought my way through, which hey-- i can't be too upset with. It was hard to fence in 85 degree heat anf 100 percent humidity without AC hahaha. I won all my pool bouts, and won my first bout against a Dominican friend of mine 15-5 or so, then beat a girl from San Salvador 15-14 (EEK!) and afterwards, beat Benitez from Venezuela in a much contested bout 15-11. I had three or four touches turned over by video and she went crazy because the ref was american (but the one assisting with video was latino..sooo?). After she went to the bout comittee and they had refs all changed around and much anger was had I pulled ahead 15-11. It was close until the 10th (at the 8 touch break she was leading 8-4) touch where I had my last turnover and she went crazy--- well-- I think she got so riled up her fencing got worse for the last part of the bout. Lesson of the day; keep your cool.
Hung out at the mall last night, ate at a salvadorian Benihana (habachi chain), and went to sleep because I had to get a bus in the morning at 4(!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!) had a lot of fun with a big group of latinas. I guess im the person to make fun of but now a semi-official latina fencer lol. I had a lot of fun, and theres lots of fun pictures to go along with the good times. The whole tournament, the dominican team was cheering for me and supporting me, they really took me under their (very young) wings and hung out with me etc even though i could never understand a thing they said. hahahaha...
So anyways, I'll put up some pics if I have time before my flight.
Love,
Aylin, Ailin, eh-lee-een?
PS. Using my Panama passport today, and confusin gpeople with my name again lol