Sunday, May 27, 2007

In Bangkok

Hello everyone! Yes I'm on my way home again, with more experience under my belt. Here are some non-fencing closing thoughts on Vietnam:

- You can fit anything on a motorbike; Even your new refrigerator!

-If you do not live in the city, you must have a cow. This cow must be HUGE. If your cow is not as big as a horse you cannot be as cool as I thought you were.

-Hats shaped like cones are all the rage!

-The sidewalks, according to the signs, aer for bicycles and/or horse and buggies ONLY!

-If you have nowhere to live, build a house on top of your neighbors house. Actually, build a house on top of the house on top of the house on your neighbor's house.

-Do NOT smile in pictures. After the pictures, please photoshop out all freckles, and lighten your skin considerably. Your head should be at a nice tilt. (I got my picture taken at a photography place for the competition, and they basically photoshopped me until I looked...Vietnamese)

-Whatever you do... DO NOT PUT YOUR FEET UP ON THE ROW IN FRONT OF YOU, no matter how much dust and grime is already there!

-You are not allowed to be over 5'2, and if you are good luck finding clothes. My teammate, who is not big, was a XXXL in Vietnam.

-Your food must be either bread, rice, noodles or FRIED

Gotta run! I have 1 minute left on the internet!!!

On my way

pictures to come... leavin from nam!

Saturday, May 26, 2007

Day 2

So, I lost in the 64 to Kim. Not for lack of trying, because had it been any other day i swear I would have had her.

...on a side note, the Ukraine coaches are sitting behind me listening to "my humps" by the Black Eyed Peas on their phone and dancing.

Anyways, I had the same annoying ref as yesterday who was being a pain to me all day yesterday too. My lame failed yesterday, and I had to write my name on the back of my new one since there were no printers here. I thought I did a darn good job, and they passed it at im\nspection. The ref basically hassled me nonstop about it claiming that it was illegal, and when I had him today and really confronted him about it he was like "well, i said some referees would fail it but im nice and I'll let you fence" grr! lol

I think I was getting heat exaughstion in my bout, because afterward i had a headache and my legs were shaking. That's not why I lost but it had a hand-- I was supposed to fence at 915 am, so I warmed up hard until nine (I was really knocked out by the heat), and I was planning on givng myself 15 minutes to just sit and cool down. When I got in the main gym, they were already waiting for me on the strip (WAY early) and I was exaughsted. At the end of the bout I had the right idea and really had to concentrate to make my actions precise and my footwork not too big. Any other day I should have HAD her, its so frustrating. End score: 15-11

Truthfully, despite my unfortunate loss I really feel this tournament was worth it. My fencing is getting stronger and STRONGER. I see what his happening and I'm playing with the big girls. They're beginning to be afraid of me, and I'm not worrying that much about them. I think this is coming with the more experience I get and its exciting to see improvement despite my placing.

I bought a shirt/skirt combo downtown today, its purple and looks fun (I am HUGE here... I don't feel short anymore, I just feel fat in my size L outfit hahaha)! Very asian. The vietnamese people are really cool, but are scary drivers. You cannot believe what can fit on a motorbike. I think the record for peopel I've heard of so far here is 6, and of stuff I saw them carrying bricks, and HUGE metal poles. I saw chickens today too! (watch out, avian flu!)

Anyways, there's lots to tell bt tomorrow I'm planning on going to a university built here in 1007 ad and probably the Ho Chi Min mosuleum (museum?). 3 people got injured today and a fourth slightly, so if Sada had backed out of tomorrow I would have had to fence the team competition! eep!

Love you all!

Friday, May 25, 2007

Day 1

Went 3-2 in pools... Fenced well except against the worst fencerin the pool.

Lucchino: V 5-3
Nagy: D 4-5
Chinese Girl: V 5-4
Bethier: D 1-5
Vietnames Girl: V 5-2

It was a rough AND small pool, my only mistake being the stupid bout against Berthier. Last action against Nagy was all mine but i missed her arm (GAH!) on accident.

Fenced Trinh (Vietnam) and beat her 15-5 to get in the 64. Tomorrow I'm due to fence Kim from Korea (ranked 10). I'm optimistic, even though it should be tough.

Its about 85 outside right now, which is the coolest its been. When we were fencing today (oh my God), it was over 100 with a ton of humidity. I almost died warming up, because te warm up room was small and not air conditioned. Been drinking LOTS of bottled water!

The food is also a bit dodgy (as my brit friends would say). Everything thats not raw is deep fat fried! So, I've been eating a LOT of rice and found soem tofu today.

I got a ride from Lu-An, the translator on her motorbike to a portrait company for my pictures. They took all the moles and freckles off my face, wouldn't let me smile, airbrushed me way paler, tiled my head, etc. It was hilarious how they made me look as vietnamese as possible. Anyways, I should go since I'm stealing my friend's computer!! Love you all and I'll let you knw how it goes tomorrow.

PS. Bianco is always staring at me now whenever I'm around her. haha.

Thursday, May 24, 2007

Hey Everybody once again!

I'm in Hanoi, and yes everyone wears the cone hats! I found out the reason they all wear masks on the motorbike too! Its not the pollution but rather the fact that they want their faces not to get tan!

Well, I fence at 3 o'clock today and there's a big line of people for the internet. I have a tough pool!

Probably should go, since they're talking about me and think I don't uerstand haha.

Love you guys!

I have a translator that I think is actually a "minder" type person haha. I feel like such a rebel here with the "commies"

Sunday, May 13, 2007

In Gand

Went out in the 128 but its fine... short messqge cause i shouldnt be on this computer. belgium keyboards are super weird!

Friday, May 11, 2007

To do...

Today the girls are going shopping downtown, so I think I'll follow them and then go see "The Mystic Lamb", which is this supposedly amazing GIANT oil painting. It's the oldest oil painting ever, from the 1200's.

I want to see the castle too, but I have to go do my laundry etc. We'll see. Supposedly the fencing club here is the oldest gym in europe (16th century), situated in the top of a bell tower so even if I don't fence I think I'll go check it out.

Everyone who's been here thinks its the coolest place ever. Though I don't have too much time I think I'll check out what I can.

Thursday, May 10, 2007

Some pictures to start..


Gothic Quarter

Church on Mont Juic over Las Ramblas



bell on the cathedral

Jazz Club -- Jazz was ridiculously popular there, an I met a pianist tryin to get into the scene at Casa Beethoven, a 200 year old sheet music shop. On Monday night I went to the Jam Session, and it was lots of fun. It was exciting to see Scott Whitfield on th program!

One of many many street artists. This frog was playing dizzy gillespie :)

Las Ramblas from the Coast side, next to the Columbus monument

Artsy shot from inside the phenomenal cathedral

A little flamenco, anyone?
Outside the cathedral, artsy shot in the gothic quarter

Thinking...bull? On one of the Ramblas


Kid chasin a bird in plaza Catalunya

Wednesday, May 9, 2007

Lots of Pictures - watch out

I'm back in the hostel on the last night in Barcelona, and I'm only now getting the wireless to work on my laptop.

Verdict: EVERYONE needs to come here.

OK running out of battery-- but in gand when I get to internet again watch out I have pics comin' your way.

I just ate too many haribo gummy bears

Joan asked me today jokingly, as Laela was hitting him= do you hit your coach? I could not explain to him well enough in spanish the fallacy of that statement.

I´m trying to rest up before one final trek outside. I´m exhausted and sunburned from standing around Camp Nou, waiting for Ronaldhino to appear in his car after practice. What a stalker eh? Actually, I was one stalker of many. Didn´t end up seeing him'-- but I did see another player and got a silly picture inside the stadium´s store that photoshops me into a picture with him ;) (I mean, we´re totally friends, like omg)

Now I´m hoping to make one final run down las ramblas tonight, after visiting the cathedral and hopefully La Sagrada Familia. Maybe I´ll buy a ticket on those tourist buses but unfortunatly I´m not sure the price is worth the time I have left to run around.

Fencing-flamenco-sore feet

Sorry guys! Short entry because I have to head over to plaza espanyol pronto to meet Joan and the SAM fencers.

Had a good practice w- Joan and the fencers. They were all sweethearts and pretty young, but there were a couple on their national squads. Ate lunch with them and kidded around--Catalan humor is scathing but hilarious and they were all jokesters (including the coach). Lost a few won a few in terms of bouts... today I´m going to concentrate more on just feeling fencing.

Was told by about 3 people yesterday they couldnt´tell where I was from by my accent! WOOT!

Walked ALL THE WAY DOWN from passeig de gracia, through plaza catalunya, down Universitat and via laeitania (sp?), to the gothic quarter and the cathedral which I couldn´t get to because I needed to cover my darn shoulders! Oops, should have seen that coming. Though I found la Barca shop, and bought myself a tank that was on sale. barca! barca! barca! ole ole ole! viva el ronaldinho!

I took a taxi back up to El Patio Andaluz (above passeig de gracia on Agulai or something st) for the dinner show.

Flamenco started off corny (the lights and music guy was so proud of himself the whole time) but ended up being awesome with live flamenco guitar, singing, and crazy good dancing. They were all great musicians and I got to flamenco w- one of them on stage in the end. The picture guy gave me a carnation and kept trying to ask me out, so I got him to give me a discount on the picture of me dancing. Ha, I win.

Got to go to Plaza Espanyol to get my ride to fencing. The kids all attend a school for the best athletes in Catalonya and it´s very nice... I wish I had had something like that!

Today I think I´m going to shell out the money for a tourist bus to all the cool places if my metro ticket can´t get me everywhere easily, vale? ;)

Monday, May 7, 2007

Uh oh...

Where oh where has a laundromat gone??

I´m in desperate need of non'smelly fencing garb for tomorrow morning but I don´t think its gonna happen. ew.

Stuff here opens LATE so I doubt I can find one tomorrow morning in time to get it done before practice. Oh well. Ew? Sorry Mont Juic fencing club. I apologize. I thought my hostel had laundry stuff.

Finally in la Barca

Finally got here intact! After some creative stuffing of valubles into a very small locker I´m ready to go explore. For some reason my wifi isn´t working on my laptop... so no pictures. Maybe itll work by tonight. Here´s a blog I wrote at the airport this morning-

Well I´ms itting herein the Vienna airport, attempting to write my next blog while waiting for the check in for my flight to open at 12. I still find it funny that word is automatically in spanish, even though I wrote the first paper I´ve written in two years in english only last week. Here in Austria, I´ve already gotten a somewhat spanish start to my trip to barcelona! After asking many people at Wien Sudbanhof where the heck the stop for the airport bus is and getting pointed in may different directions with varying levels of helpfulness/english (ah, europe), I finally found where I needed to be. the sign above the bus stop, ticking off the times each bus was supposed to arrive and depart, seemed to be slightly optimistic. The guy standing next to me )yes, the tall dark and handsome type about my age) didn´t seem so hopeful, as he kept eyeing his watch. A bus, which read "Wien Flughafen" (last time I checked that meant Vienna Airport=, was declared not our bus. the bus came and went without taking any passenfers and a few people started restlessly heading over to the taxi station, ¨"convienently" located next to the stop. It was then I realized that the man was speaking spanish into his phone When he hung up, I asked him ¿hablas aleman? (do you speak german?) to which he answered No, do you? He turned out to be a real cutie named Jesus, fairly worried about making his plane to Madrid. Though I wasn´t in a big rush myself, I felt a little bad for him (cough) so I offered that we share a taxi to the airport. It ended up he had been on vacation all around Austria for a while, turning out to be a real sweet guy. Ge even gave me some pointers on what I should go see in Barcelona, and waited to walk with me over to Iberia´s terminal. Maybe I should have gone to Madrid instead! (no dad I wouldn´t give you a heart attack) Too late though because he made his flight'--thanks to my heroics- which is boarding now and I´m sitting in the airport cafe, drinking my overpriced (3 euro!!!) cappucino, dreaming of spanish boys, and writing horrible run on sentences.

I´ve decided they should make it a rule that whenever on a trip to Europe, a fencer shouldn´t have to get up before 830 am. Getting up way early in the morning during a trip like this messes with my sleep schedule even more. I have decided though that the Austran train system is designed for fencing travel. Invredibly punctual, the OGG train system picked me up at EXACTLY 600.00001 am. Inside the train and eats were impeccably clean, and in the compartments the seats facing each other slide together to form a bed! Perfecto! I slept soundly until about 750, when a knock came at my compartment door. the nice lady sharing my compartment looked up and a potbellied man asked if he could squeeze in with us. Both prior occupants give the hesitant go-ahead-turned-mistake, as the man sits down and pulls two Becks out of his pocket. theother woman and I exchange looks as she also adds an exasperated rolling ofthe eyes. the man asks if it is ok that he smokes. Upon entering the train I had made a concerted effort not to share a compartment with a smoker. I did not know, however, how rude itis in Austria to say NO YOU CANT so (mistake mistake) I said¨"a little" in my sleep deprived state. The other lady then looks at me, at him, declares "NO FUME" and leaves in a hurry. Darn it! At this point I don´t want to give up my med so I hope desperately that he´lltake "a little" to heart and pretend to sleep so he doesn´t talk to me (he was a loud guy). Unfortunatly, and probalby what I get for not standing in solidarity with the lady, another man comes in to join him in a smoke ever after I told mr. potbelly ¨"outside!" The first 30 minutes of the rest of the train ride was spent getting used to the smoke, and the rest was spent dozing.

Hope you enjoy my little anecdotes of European travel. I have decided that although it is not my very favorite of all the places I´ve been, Austria is definitly the most beautiful!

The cabbie from the airport was really cool and he ended up telling me basically the area, where to go and where to avoid etc. Really sweet and helpful, so I tipped him! Off to las Ramblas for me! Plan- Don´t get robbed! =)

Sunday, May 6, 2007

Second day


The clouds moved!

Today started off strong-- I beat the #7 world ranked fencer Bianco 15-7. She has always been afraid of me and its fun to just cement in her mind that she can't touch me. Unfortunatly, I lost my bout in the 32 to danion 12-15... some mediocre french fencer who got dominated by Velikaia in the next round(15-2?). I was so mad!!! I've always wanted to fence Velikaia, and I messed up my chance!! I would love to decimate "The Great One" (her last name translated from Russian). Oh well, next tournament I suppose. Stupid french fencers and there odd-timed continuation attack and messy parries getting in the way!!! OK, actually more like stupid Eileen making a stupid decision in the last touch! hahaha. Oh well, I think next time she's going down for sure.

despite everything I'm really having a great time with my fencing and with my teammates.



Off to watch pirates of the carribean with the piratess herself (emma baratta)... I have my taxi, train, an bus all set up for tomorrow + practice at the barcelona club Tues/W.

32nd overall--- why do I always get 32nd?! lol why not 17th?! Goal for next week: fence looser in pools.

Saturday, May 5, 2007

First day

Iffy start to the

Tweet Tweet


This little cutie was singing outside my window this morning.

Friday, May 4, 2007

Made it to Klagenfurt WITH LUGGAGE! =)

Woohoo I made it. I'm in a different hotel this year but everything's just as pretty! I sat next to this guy on the plane that could rival the geographic know-how of my dad and told me all about the mountains and the "worthersee" (or the giant lake where the richest people of Germany and Austria live) here in Klagenfurt. Here are a couple pics of the room and the view (mountains under clouds):


Apparently the whole dragon obsession in klagenfurt is because mythically, there was this "firewirm" storming the countryside. When it was killed by some guy (I know, so specific) that was when they founded the city in the 1200's or somewhere around that.

Here's a couple sunny pics from last year's tournament to give you an idea of the mountains here:
I know this is a family blog-- but I have to add it. In the past two years I've seen this and refrained from taking a picture of it. The organizers always drive us in these little vans to the venue/hotel etc and my juvenile sense of humor always gets the best of me.




No food here so i'm gonna have to go w/ my bread and butter lunch til dinner at 6:30. I'm STARVING!

Talk to you soon!

Thursday, May 3, 2007

Chicago O'Hare


Well, I'm sitting at my favorite (HA!) airport, waiting to go to my secon

Soon I'll be in the mountains in Klagenfurt-- I'll make sure to shoot you guys some pictures cause they're amazing!!